A Demon’s Ego

My sweet, sweet girl,  how lovely 

Once eager and full of life 
What cracked the walls around you 
And stole your inner light? 

Please sweet girl! Please tell me! 
What methods this monster used 
How he consumed a soul so bright
So that I may do so too

Details! My girl,  more details! 
Tell me more of this cunning beast 
Tell me how it was he lured you in
Tell me how he laid his feast 

Listen poor girl, just listen! 
Wipe away your tears of woe 
Tell the world of all my cunning 
And perhaps I’ll let you go…

Marie Poindexter

Oct 13, 2015

Leave a Reply

